Blanchford

Blanchford is a company with a rich history, one that is rooted within Oxfordshire and which prides itself on serving the local community. With more than 75 years in business, it was a trio of brothers, Fred, Cecil and Ronald Blanchford who opened up a builders' merchants shop on Queens Street in Oxford back in 1938. They soon outgrew the central Oxford site and relocated to Headington, where Blanchford's main operation has been ever since. The Blanchford brothers retired during the 1950s, with two committed employees then going on to become joint Managing Directors. Another family was introduced into the company through the accountants, and that established continuity in ownership ever since, as the same families are still shareholders today. With the business going from strength to strength, a sister branch was opened in Princes Risborough in the 1960s, which today houses a kitchen & bathroom showroom alongside the building supplies sales operation.